Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Blue Demon Hall of Famer John Caldow Adds To Trophy Case

DePaul University Track and Field Hall of Famer John Caldow will be recognized for his lifetime service to the track and field community with his induction into the Illinois Track and Cross Country Coaches Association Hall of Fame on January 9, 2010.

Caldow will be honored at the ITCCCA’s annual clinic and luncheon. The 1970 education graduate will be recognized as he enters his 39th year coaching. Following his graduation fro DePaul, he began coaching at Calumet High School in 1970-71. After a stint at King High School, Caldow began an 11-year career at the head of the DePaul track and field program. He then returned to the prep ranks; including time at Jones Prep, St. Scholastica and Whitney Young where he is currently the assistant girl’s track and cross country coach.

The Blue Demon has led a distinguished career in service to the track and cross country community. Among the organizations that he has served are: CPHS Track and Cross Country Committees 1974-78, The NITCCCA Treasurer (1976-78), IHSA Track Advisory Committee (1977-78), IHSA State Meet Official (1977-78) and an official at a NCAA cross country championship in 1985.

Caldow’s women’s teams had unprecedented success while he was at the helm of DePaul track and cross country. His squads captured North Star Conference Championships in cross country from 1986-89. In 1986, his men’s squad captured the Illinois State Cross Country Championship.
Always known as a great teacher and motivator, Caldow has coached 23 high school athletes to all-state recognition with seven earning All American honors.

While at DePaul , he was honored as the North Star Conference Cross Country Coach of the Year in 1986 and received runner-up accolades in 1987 and 1988. Under his tutelage, Jane Murphy won the 1983 North Star individual title in cross country. In all his women student-athletes would be named all-North Star Conference 17 times while 12 of his men student-athletes would earn all-Central Collegiate Conference honors.

Caldow’s induction will mark the fourth Blue Demon inducted into the ITCCCA Hall of Fame. He was preceded by fellow DePaul Hall of Famers Don Amidei, Pat Savage and Bill Drennan, who were inducted in 1977, 1989 and 2006, respectively. DePaul University Athletics inducted Caldow into the DePaul Hall of Fame in 1986.

For more information, please go to or contact Bob Geiger at

John Caldow File

Coaching File:
1970-71 Calumet HS Track/CC Boys
1971-78 King HS Boys Track/CC
1977-78 King HS Girls Track/CC
1979-1989 DePaul Univ.Mens Track/CC
1982-89 DePaul Univ. Women's Track/CC
1999-2003 Jones CC Boys and Girls
1999-2000 Jones Boys and Girls Track Coach
2000-2006 St.Scholastica Asst.Track
2005-2006 St.Scholastica CC
2006-present Asst. Coach Girls Track/CC at Whitney Young

Organizations Served:
1974-78 CPHS Track Committee
1974-78 CPHS CC Committee
1976-78 NITCCCA Treasurer
1976-78 Ill.Coaches Ass. District 1 Rep
1976-78 IPI Meet Official/Coach
1977-78 IHSA Track Advisory Committee
1977-78 IHSA State Meet Official
1985 NCAA CC Championship Official

Team Accolades:
1974-78 CPHS Indoor/Outdoor Track Varsity Top Five
1974-78 CPHS Indoor/Outdoor Track FS Top Five
1974-78 CPHS CC Varsity Top 3
1974-78 CPHS CC FS Top 3
1975 IHSA State Boys 40th Place
1976 IHSA State Boys 5th Place
1977 IHSA State Boys 4th Place
1978 IHSA State Boys 13th Place
1986-89 Womens North Star Conference Champs
1986 Men's Illinois State CC Champs
2000 Boys JV CC City Runner -up
2000 Girl's JV CC City 3rd Place
2001 Girl's JV CC City Champs
2001 Boy's JV CC 3rd Place

Individual Accolades:
All State (IHSA)
1973 Mike Spencer Calumet HS 120HH
1975 Ed Thomas King HS 120HH
1976 Ed Thomas King HS 120HH 330LH
1977 Jerome Brown 120HH, Cedric Walker 4X400 440,James gage LJ-TJ, Keith Whitfield 4X440, EugeneLiddell 4X400, Art Stewart 4X400, Greg Clark (Q) Mile King HS
1978 Eugene Liddell 220-4X100, James Gage LJ-TJ, Greg Cotton 4X100, Marvin
Rogers 4X100, Mike Irby 100 (Q) King HS
1980 Antionette Broadnex 100m-200m King HS
1980 Darren Kern 800m King HS
2000-01 Daisy Zamora AA CC Finalist Jones HS
2000 Daisy Zamora AA 1600m-3200m (Q)
2007 Stephanie Omueti 100-200 All State (Whitney Young)
2009 Raena Rhone 400 M. and 4 x 400 Relay All-State
2009 Porsha Irvin 400 M. and 4 x 400 Relay All-State
2009 4 x 400 Relay All-State

All American:
1973 Mike Spencer 120HH
1976 Ed Thomas 50HH,60HH,120HH,330 LH, Mike West 50yd-60yd
1977 Cedric Walker 400m, Jerome Brown 120HH, James Gage 50yd-60yd
1980 Darren Kern 800m

All Central Collegiate Conference:
1982-84 Jim Birgans 60yd, 100m,400m 4X100m,4X400m
1982-83 Jim Fox 1500m-5000m
1983 Daryl Robinson 4X400, Sammie Wayne 4X400, Zamon Gray 4X400
1984 Kerry Sloan 400IH, Jim Dzwierzynski 1500m, Kurt Roderich 5000m,
1985 Kerry Sloan 400IH,
1987-88 Bryan Becker 400m
1987 Dale Tobias 100m-200m,Mark Gant HJ

All North Star CC Conference:
1983 Jane Murphy (Champ), Laura Grove
1984 Jane Murphy
1985 Lori Pascoe,Laura Grove
1986 Anne Kuiken, Gloria Kuiken, Lori Pascoe
1988 Anne Kuiken, Gloria Kuiken. Eileen Murphy, Karen Tjarksen
1987 Anne Kuiken, Gloria Kuiken, Kim Wilkeson, Beata Kielar, Patti O'Connell

1986 North Star Conference CC Coach of Year
1987-88 North Star CC Coach of the Year Runner-up

Plus numerous Sectional CC Titles Varsity -FS in Cross Country at King

All research courtesy of track alum Bob Geiger (’94)